As you’ll see in the video below this mead has been fermenting pretty steadily for the last month which is interesting to me because it was a slow ferment initially.

I use a litre of spring water to make some more strong Jasmine tea. I used the tea to prime the siphon tube and to top up the mead after racking.

 

It didnt taste very sweet. I’m finding all my meads are finishing very dry. I suspect that’s because of the yeast Ive been using: Lalvin EC1118. It’s a champagne yeast with a very high alcohol tolerance; up to 18% ABV. I want this one to be a dessert mead so I added some more honey. I didnt really measure it out but it was probably about 3 or 4 tablespoons worth of crystallized honey.

In the picture gallery:

 

• The Jasmine Tea
• Hydrometer reading before racking: 1.014
• Siphoning/Racking Undómiel
• After Racking
• The crystallized honey I added sitting on the bottom of the jug. (I expect this will all dissolve into the mead over the course of the next month.)

45565122-1 Jasmine Tea

45565123-2 Hydrometer reading 1.014

45565124-3 Siphoning

45565125-4 After Racking

45565126-5 Honey on the bottom